Skip to content

Mendeley

May 7, 2010

An astute commenter (check out some of Arek’s photography, they’re amazing!) on my previous post regarding my frustration with the current state of bibliographic management software pointed me in the direction of Mendeley.  I’ve downloaded this software and started playing around with it a bit.  It seems to be my dream software package.  My only initial complaint is the “social media” component of the software and site.  I have a natural distrust of social media at this point and want to be able to easily opt-out of this feature.  (There may be a mechanism for this, I haven’t poked around very much.)  I don’t have time right now to do a full review, but I will be using it during my research this summer and will let everybody know how it goes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 5:52 pm

    Hi Josh, thanks for giving Mendeley a try.

    The Desktop software can be used without registering for a web profile, so there’s nothing to opt out of. If you opt into a web profile Mendeley can do more, such as back up your library and search the online catalog, but by default nothing is made public.

Trackbacks

  1. The ugliness of EMRs « Number Needed to Treat

Leave a Reply

