Skip to content

Test 1=DONE

September 2, 2009
tags:

First medical school test is done and I survived.  I thought I had studied pretty hard and did fine overall, but I’m going to have to put in many, many, many more hours if I want to be where I think I should be (and where I want to be).  Also, I would definitely be lying if I said that I didn’t think at least once during my test prep that I had made a huge mistake in coming to med school.  Having a mountain of flashcards and dozens of review sheets to memorize will start to eat away at your sanity.  It would be interesting to know how many med students question their choice to become doctors in that week right before their first test.  I’m going to conservatively estimate 97% were wondering if the admissions board made a huge mistake letting them in.

As I said in my last post, the sheer volume of information is incredible.  I think we covered about a month of biochemistry per week.  Added on top of that was molecular and cellular biology, histopathology, some general pathology, a dab of epidemiology and a smattering of clinical skills.  If that seems like a broad range of subject areas, it’s because it is.  Covering such a wide range of topics is both good and bad.  Good because it breaks up the monotony of intensely studying a single subject; bad because you’re studying is all over the place (and can feel unfocused).  Overall, I feel good about how everything went.  I haven’t been in an intense learning situation for over two years, so stepping into medical school was like trying to get to 100 miles per hour from a dead standstill.  Our next test is only a few short weeks away, so there is no rest for the weary.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

