Skip to content

I was an uninsured American

August 7, 2009

This is a difficult thing to admit on a medical blog, but for a month I was among the millions of Americans without health insurance.  I played the deadly game and escaped unscathed (luckily).

How did this happen?  I quit my research job a month before I started medical school.  Thus, in the intervening month–July–I wasn’t covered by my employer’s health insurance and my student health insurance hadn’t kicked in yet.

Could I have gotten COBRA coverage?  Of course.  But, it would have cost me almost $500 for a single month.  I’m going to let that sink in for a second.  Try to wrap your head around that figure.  Better yet, think about what a year’s worth of COBRA coverage would have cost me–$6,000.

Add in one other fact–I haven’t been to the doctor in over 2 years.  Why would I flush $6,000 a year?

When you begin to take these simple facts and figures into account, it easy to see why young Americans go without health insurance.  If I had involuntarily left job (ie–got fired) there is no financial way I could have afforded to keep up my COBRA coverage.

Cost.  It has to be addressed in the health reform debate and unfortunately that’s not happening right now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

